Kingdom of Fairytales: Rumpelstiltskin to release in 4 weekly parts, beginning this week with QUEEN OF UNICORNS by Jennifer Ellision!

Love fairy tales and mythology?
Fans of mermaids, dragons, unicorns, and other mythical creatures?
Enjoy when a beloved classic tale is retold?
A Twist in the Tail Thursdays features all this and more!

Have you heard about the ambitious Kingdom of Fairytales project featuring several USA Today Best Selling Authors?

It all began this past November with the release of Kingdom of Fairytales Prequel AFTER THE HAPPILY EVER AFTER, which were basically teasers for upcoming quartets, each considered a "season" that bring the realm and characters more fully into being. Some fairy tales, of course, result in lovely lives for the recipients, while others don't quite live up to the "happily" part, and the series will explore all facets of "happily ever after." Each season will be written by different authors. The prequel featured authors J.A. Armitage, Audrey Rich, B. Kristin McMichael, Emma Savant, Jennifer Ellision, Scarlett Kol, R. Castro, and Margo Ryerkerk.

The overarching summary for the series states,

You all know the story of your favorite fairytale, but did you ever wonder what happened after the fairytale ending? Well we know. Not all afters end up happily, sometimes the real adventure starts much later...

Following famous fairytale characters, eighteen years after their happily ever after, the Kingdom of Fairytales offers an edge of the seat thrill ride in an all new and sensational way to read.

Lighting-fast reads you won’t be able to put down

• Read in real time as each chapter follows a day in the life of a character throughout the entire year, with each bite-sized episode representing a week in the life of our hero.

• Each character’s story wrapped up at the end of every season with a brand new character and story featured in each season.

• Published every Wednesday throughout the year with each bite-sized episode representing a week in the life of our hero. Wednesdays will be your new favorite day of the week.

©Kingdom of Fairytales website
A map of the interconnected kingdoms

Each book will be written by series creator J.A. Armitage and a fellow author, and they will release an episode every Wednesday all year long!

I only heard about the series this week because I am a long-time fan of Jennifer Ellision (You can find my reviews for THREATS OF SKY AND SEA,  RIOT OF STORM AND SMOKEFALL OF THRONES AND THORNS, and OVER RAGING TIDES). Ellision has also contributed stories to several fairy tale anthologies over the years, and I was so excited to see this surprise new release from her -- and then to find out it is part of a broader series!

Here is a quick look at all twelve "seasons" fairy tale fans will be treated to over the course of 2020 (All images are screencaptured from the Kingdom of Fairytales website):

You can pick up After Sleeping Beauty, After Little Mermaid, After Red Riding Hood, and After Rapunzel now in their entirety and binge each season. Season 5, After Rumplestiltskin, begins this week and continues for three more weeks!

I am definitely intrigued to go back and look at all the books that have already come out in this series, which can be read alone, but likely have easter eggs for fans reading in order (I am guessing here, having not read any of these yet). I probably will begin with After Rumpelstiltskin, however, because it's the latest release AND I'm already obsessed with Jennifer Ellision's writing!

On her website when talking about her latest book, Ellision states,

"My character, Eliana, is the daughter of the miller’s daughter… the one who struck a bargain with Rumpelstiltskin. Although Eliana doesn’t know that.

To her, Rumpelstiltskin is just a nonsense word. A childish swear word that she and her best friend Jay used when they stubbed their toe or banged their heads.

But when the unicorns that populate her kingdom are endangered, she learns that there’s more to 'Rumpelstiltskin' than she thought..."

Here is a summary of the first book in the current season, After Rumpelstiltskin, entitled QUEEN OF UNICORNS, which released just yesterday!

O F F I C I A L   I N F O:

Author: Jennifer Ellision and J.A. Armitage
Release Date: April 22, 2020
Publisher: Enchanted Quill Press

What happened after the happily ever after?

You all know the story of Rumpelstiltskin, but did you ever wonder what happened after the fairytale ending? Well we know. Not all afters end up happily, sometimes the real adventure starts much later...

Vale hasn’t been the same for Princess Eliana since her husband passed away. Now, left grieving and pregnant, she finds solace in the peaceful meadows surrounding her castle, taking comfort in the presence of the wild unicorns who make the meadow their home.

But Eliana’s fragile peace is splintering…

Something is out to get the unicorns. Something that has Eliana’s mother, the Queen, going into overprotective overdrive as Eliana prepares to bring new life into the world. But Eliana refuses to hunker down in the palace like a coward.

With her childhood friend Jay at her side, can Eliana protect the unicorns and find who--or what--is hunting them?

Or will the safety of the meadows be jeopardized forever?