Top Twenty 2017 Debuts We're Excited For!

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.
Every once in a while I participate in this one when I either
1) Like the theme, and/or 2) Have the time!

This week's topic:
Top Twenty 2017 Debuts We're Excited For!
(Ten each!)

There are SO MANY amazing books coming out in 2017.


There are a lot of books Bonnie and Mandy are both dying to read. We both feel that debuts need extra love because they're unknown with no established audience, so rather than both point out the same books, we each chose ten unique titles, even though we want to read so many on each other's lists!

And it was hard narrowing it down to these!!!

In no particular order...

Out: May 2, 2017

I just love the synopsis of this one. It's about a girl unlikely to ever have a destiny of her own, even for something so small as to be a servant. Yet she is plucked away from life by the Rajah and turned into his one hundredth bride. She'll find magic deep within herself...and I'm hoping a romance with the Captain of her Guard mentioned in the summary!?

2) MIRAGE by Somaiya Daud
Out: November 6, 2017

Okay, 1) this is inspired by the author's Moroccan heritage, and how cool is that? 2) Body doubles and false princesses, and dangers in the palace that are inescapable....I NEED THIS!!!

3) GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust
Out: September 5, 2017 

I'm always up for a good fairy tale, and this one is a feminist retelling of Snow White--and tells the dual POVs of both the princess and the stepmother!!!

4) EVEN THE DARKEST STARS by Heather Fawcett
Out: 2017 TBA 

It takes place in the Himalayas! And has mountain climbing! And and and...the mission that the MC goes on may actually be a quest to destroy the world! Ooooh!!!

5) WICKED LIKE A WILDFIRE by Lana Popović 
Out: August 15, 2017

You mean besides this gorgeous, gorgeous cover?

...Actually, I wanted to read it since way before this pretty picture appeared on my screen!

I just love the unique magic in this world, the gleam, the magic seen in glasswork, in music, in baking. It sounds so unique! Also, the fact that the sisters are both forbidden to fall in love? I need to know so much more about this world! It also has a fairy tale-like vibe, since there are curses involved!

6) TRAITOR'S KISS by Erin Beaty
Out May 9, 2017

I love that this is a girl who is so willful and against being lady-like that, instead of being married off, is instead apprenticed to a matchmaker and tasked with marrying OTHERS off. WHILE BEING A SPY!!!!!!!!!

7) SPINDLE FIRE by Lexa Hillyer
Out April 11, 2017

You guys know that if a book promises me a fairy tale, I'm all in, so is this one any surprise!? Plus, look at this blurb: "It all started with the burning of the spindles. No. It all started with a curse..." Plus, it's about SISTERS. An ordinary tale based on a story we all know, this is not! Plus, that cover!!!

Out January 10, 2017 

This takes place in Russia, for one. And it's being comped to UPROOTED by Naomi Novik, THE NIGHT CIRCUS by Erin Morgenstern, and Neil Gaiman in general....all books/authors I LOVE. So of course I need to read this, too!!!

9) SEA WITCH by Sarah Henning
Out 2017 TBA

I'm not really sure if I'll let myself read this until I see more of the synopsis because I have my own "sea witch origin story" in the works and I don't like reading similar stories, but we'll see once more is known about it. I'm still so incredibly excited it exists!!!

10) THE PRINCES' BANE by Alexandra Christo
Out Fall 2017 TBA

Blood-thirsty sirens--who especially love royal blood...and a prince tasked with ending the war between land and sea? I NEED THIS SO VERY BADLY!!!

1) WINTERSONG by S. Jae-Jones
Out  February 7th 2017


It's inspired by Labyrinth, but don't fear that this story will read like the movie. Just reading the summary should be enough to let you know that the author has shifted and expanded upon the ideas of the characters and made them her own. I am so so so excited to see this world come to life. And look how freaking gorgeous the cover is!!!

(Also, Bonnie read it and thinks you will all love it!)


2) SKELETON TREE by Kim Ventrella
Out October 2017

The summary for this is brief but intriguing: a boy who befriends a friend in death via a strange tree in his backyard. It sounds like it'll have some of that Neil Gaiman creepy oddness to it but it's a middle grade book so it'll be appropriate for younger audiences.

3) THE HIDDEN MEMORY OF OBJECTS by Danielle Mages Amato
Out March 21st, 2017

The Hidden Memory of Objects

When I read contemporary YA, I usually like it to make me cry. This book is probably going to fulfill that need, what with the themes of grief, a girl trying to find out the truth about her brother and unlock her own sense of self. But the idea of her being able to connect to the memories we imprint on the objects we touch, that's beautiful and creepy and gives a delightful supernatural undertone that I think makes this story exceedingly unique.

4) CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber
Out January 31st, 2017

Caraval (Caraval, #1)

The bond between sisters, magic, mystery, and a ticking clock counting down to potential loss. This book sounds like it's going to be very character driven, but the carnival aspects are going to add some amazing imagery to it. I can already tell I'm going to love it.

5) THE WOOD by Chelsea Bobulski
Out August 1st 2017

The Wood
This book sounds so intriguing. I can't tell whether it's an alternate universe or a dystopian type, but the fact that the wood has a living presence in the story, and serves as a victim of poison and as the apparent villain has piqued my curiosity.

Out September 5th, 2017

The cover for this hasn't been revealed yet, but I'm expecting great things from this book. Twisted takes on fairytales are so big right now to begin with, but adding in necromancy to the cinderella tale is a really new and intriguing twist, and a female lead who has agency in her own saving.

7) THE STAR THIEF by Lindsey Beckeer
Out April 11th, 2017

The Star Thief

This looks like such a charming MG adventure!! Constellations come to life, literally, and the story follows a girl who goes from feeling dull to being the center of an epic battle.

Out February 7th, 2016

Empress of a Thousand Skies

Space, vengeance, royalty, conspiracy. It sounds like this book is going to have everything I love out of a good Ya sci-fi/fantasy, and I'm always so intrigued by stories that are told by two POV's. If you're a fan of Marissa Meyer or Pierce Brown, chances are this will be right up your alley.

9) THE HATE U GIVE by Angie Thomas
Out February 28, 2017

The Hate U Give

This book is going to be big, an instant conversation starter. Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, Thomas has written a book that is going to open dialogue about justice, racial tensions and the relationship between people and the police.

10) SONG OF THE CURRENT by Sarah Tolcser
Out June 6th, 2017

Song of the Current

The cover is instantly eye catching, isn't it? Mythical and making it clear that water is a present aesthetic, the summery suggests a strong female lead and detailed world building, a tale of a girl making a deal to protect her father while attempting to fulfill her own destiny. This book is being recommended for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Victoria Aveyard and I really can't wait to read it!!

What books are you most excited to read???