Guest poster Erica Freeman reviews new graphic novel THE IMAGINARY VOYAGES OF EDGAR ALLAN POE by Dwight MacPherson

Love fairy tales and mythology?
Fans of mermaids, dragons, unicorns, and other mythical creatures?
Enjoy when a beloved classic tale is retold?
A Twist in the Tail Thursdays features all this and more!

Erica Freeman was born and raised in Tampa Bay. She graduated from the University of Tampa with a Major in Communication and a Minor in History. Today, she's a freelance writer and editor who contributes to various websites and publications. She is also a fan of Disney, nail polish and sleep.  
Follow Erica on Twitter and read her articles on Omega Underground and in the free online magazine Make Mine INDIE.

Erica Freeman reviews


Many scholars, students and ardent readers have tried to imagine the inner workings of Edgar Allan Poe's mind. How macabre must it be. Shrieks echo faintly, bone shine in the moonlight, blood follows through narrow passageways and a heart beats just below it all. Dwight MacPherson conjures something entirely and wonderfully different.

In THE IMAGINARY VOYAGES OF EDGAR ALLAN POE, MacPherson has created a tale about a sleeping Poe caught in another world. Terra Somnium is a place where anything can happen, including his magical guide, Irving, who happens to be a seven-foot tall mouse. Magical adventures ensue. Poe is a cuter version of himself. If he were a toy, he'd probably be marked Chibi in the online description. His form isn't an indication of his personality though. He's still Poe; tormented by inner demons and not just an adorable author to push around.

The artist, Luis Czerniawski, is best known in the horror genre. One of his books, KOLCHAK THE NIGHT STALKER: THE FORGOTTEN LORE OF EDGAR ALLAN POE, recently won the Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in Graphic Novel. The artwork has a lush, inviting quality while keeping just enough dark to mimic a midnight dreary.

The comic's tone is playful and full of references. The more you've read, the more enjoyable it becomes. Some are too important to the tale not to point out, like a surprise appearance by a Greek god; you'll just have to see who. Irving brings to mind the Poe's cotemporary who he often criticized: Washington Irving. Then, there's the scene with Poe running with a giant mouse through a hall of magical portraits that may remind you of a similar experience in central Florida. With everything that was packed into the first issue, what will the next 11 bring?

Years ago, MacPherson first published his Poe story as a webcomic before Image released a printed version. Now that MacPherson has his own company, Hocus Pocus Comics, he's revisiting the series again. This #1 starts a newer, more thorough version with more story and new artwork by Czerniawski. The original series had a variety of illustrators so this will have more consistency. Irving and other characters may be a bit friendlier looking this time around. The original title was a little more juvenile, THE SURREAL ADVENTURES OF EDGAR ALLAN POO. Instead of falling asleep in a comfy armchair, Edgar had fallen asleep in his outhouse.

THE IMAGINARY VOYAGES OF EDGAR ALLAN POE is just plain fun. Humor abounds as well as action. It's especially perfect for fans of Percy Jackson & the Olympians, AMERICAN GODS, or MacPherson's previous fantasy graphic novels about a young Howard Lovecraft. The individual issues are currently available on most electronic formats from Comixology and Amazon. The only disappointing part is having to wait for the next issue!


O F F I C I A   I N F O:

Author: Dwight MacPherson
Release Date: Sept. 6, 2011
Publisher: Hocus Pocus Comics
Received: For Review

The Harvey and Eagle Award nominated graphic novel returns as a 12-issue limited series with brand new art and a revamped story! Hocus Pocus Comics proudly presents a twisted glimpse into the dream-life of America's greatest fantasist, Edgar Allan Poe, in Dwight L. MacPherson's ingenious epic, THE IMAGINARY VOYAGES OF EDGAR ALLAN POE! 

Chapter 1: Falling Down 

Edgar Allan Poe has lost everyone he ever loved and now he is losing his mind. Haunted by his dead wife and his literary failures, the poet tumbles into a fantastic world created by his genius...and his madness.