You could win a book in Seanan McGuire's fantastic WAYWARD CHILDREN series!

Welcome to Magic, Myth, & Mischief in celebration 
of fairy tales, mythology, and fantastic beasts of lore such as dragons, fae, mermaids, and unicorns!
Join our celebration daily at A Backwards Story and That Artsy Reader Girl!
Check out our daily schedule of events at ABS and TARG!
Stop back all week long for fun author interviews, exciting giveaways, reviews,
and more!

"You're nobody's doorway but your own, and the only one who gets to tell you how your story ends is you." 


Today, I'm reviewing the Wayward Children series by Seanan McGuire as a whole over on BroadwayWorld.

The series is adult fantasy with crossover YA appeal. Some of it is dark and grim, but nothing I wouldn't recommend to a teenager. It's definitely not for younger readers, though.

Because it's Magic, Myth, and Mischief month, I want to spotlight the books briefly here. 

Think about Dorothy when she returns from Oz, Alice when she comes back from Wonderland, the Pevensie siblings, who returned to Narnia on multiple occasions. Think about kids who go to amazing worlds and have incredible adventures. What happens when they return home? What happens when nobody believes them? Are they crazy? What if our world is no longer enough, but they can't return where they belong?

Today, I'd like to direct you to my review if you're interested in hearing more and, if you've yet to discover this series, invite you to take a chance on diving in by entering our event giveaway below! If you're already a fan of the series, you can instead choose a pre-order of the new book, IN AN ABSENT DREAM, releasing January 8th!

Even though it's a series, these books all stand-alone, though I recommend at least reading EVERY HEART A DOORWAY First. Check out my review to hear more about each book!


O F F I C I A L   I N F O:

Author: Seanan McGuire
Release Date: April 5, 2016
Publisher: Tor Books


Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Quests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere... else.

But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children.

Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced... they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world.

But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

No matter the cost.

Author: Seanan McGuire
Release Date: June 13, 2017
Publisher: Tor Books


Twin sisters Jack and Jill were seventeen when they found their way home and were packed off to Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children.

This is the story of what happened first…

Jacqueline was her mother’s perfect daughter—polite and quiet, always dressed as a princess. If her mother was sometimes a little strict, it’s because crafting the perfect daughter takes discipline.

Jillian was her father’s perfect daughter—adventurous, thrill-seeking, and a bit of a tom-boy. He really would have preferred a son, but you work with what you've got.

They were five when they learned that grown-ups can’t be trusted.

They were twelve when they walked down the impossible staircase and discovered that the pretense of love can never be enough to prepare you a life filled with magic in a land filled with mad scientists and death and choices.

Author: Seanan McGuire
Release Date: January 9, 2018
Publisher: Tor Books


BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY returns to Eleanor West's Home for Wayward Children. At this magical boarding school, children who have experienced fantasy adventures are reintroduced to the "real" world.

Sumi died years before her prophesied daughter Rini could be born. Rini was born anyway, and now she’s trying to bring her mother back from a world without magic.

Author: Seanan McGuire
Release Date: January 8, 2019
Publisher: Tor Books


This is the story of a very serious young girl who would rather study and dream than become a respectable housewife and live up to the expectations of the world around her. As well she should.

When she finds a doorway to a world founded on logic and reason, riddles and lies, she thinks she's found her paradise. Alas, everything costs at the goblin market, and when her time there is drawing to a close, she makes the kind of bargain that never plays out well.

For anyone . . .



During Magic, Myth, & Mischief,
we're giving away a book of YOUR CHOICE
from the event!

It could be any book in the WAYWARD CHILDREN series!

This giveaway is INTERNATIONAL to any country that Book Depository ships to.  You can also claim an e-book as a prize; it doesn't have to be a physical copy!

You must be at least 13 years old to enter or have a parent's permission!

Enter now!
a Rafflecopter giveaway