{Guest Post/Giveaway} "Advice to My Kid Self" by David Zeltser, Author of LUG, DAWN OF THE ICE AGE!

Follow the blog tour for more fun guest posts, interviews, reviews, and chances to win a signed copy!

Happy Book Birthday to 
by David Zeltser!

is David's debut novel!

DAVID ZELTSER emigrated from the Soviet Union as a child, graduated from Harvard, and has worked with all kinds of wild animals, including rhinos, owls, sharks, and ad executives. He is the author of LUG, DAWN OF THE ICE AGE, the first book in a satirical series about the world’s inaction on climate change, for ages 8-12. He also has a forthcoming picture book, NINJA BABY, with Caldecott Honor illustrator Diane Goode (Chronicle Books). David lives with his wife and daughter in Santa Cruz, California. He performs improv comedy and loves meeting readers of all ages. His second book about Lug is scheduled to publish in Fall 2015.

David can be found on his website, Facebook, and Twitter!


Some Advice to My Kid Self
by David Zeltser

Hi Bonnie and A Backwards Story blog readers,

The name of your fun blog inspired me to look backwards in time. If I could go back to the past, I wondered what I would say to my past kid self.

So, here goes . . .

Some advice to my kid self

-Don’t be embarrassed about the ways in which you’re different. Your differences are your gifts, and often the most interesting things about you.
-Pay attention to how people behave more than anything else. Yes, even more than books. Understanding people is the key to almost everything. Including writing books.
-You know the saying “Winners never quit”? Uh-uh . . . winners quit all the time. Most of the time, they’re not quitting goals, but approaches. It’s all about trying new ways to get there. Just make sure that your goals are genuine, and not something someone put into your head.
-Most grown-ups don’t know very much. They act like they do, but they really don’t. And that goes for this advice-spewing grown-up.

For more about me and my upcoming books, please visit my website. And be sure to check out the LUG trailer: http://davidzeltser.com/books/lug-dawn-of-the-ice-age
O F F I C I A   I N F O:
Author: David Zeltser
Release Date: Sept. 09, 2014
Publisher: EgmontUSA

A hilarious middle-grade novel about a misunderstood caveboy perfect for fans of Ice Age, Happy Feet, The Time Warp Trio, and Platypus Police Squad.

Lug is a caveboy who would rather paint than club other caveboys. The clan even mocks him, calling him "Little Slug." Like all the other caveboys, Lug must enter the contest to become the clan's next Big Man and attempt to catch the Biggest Beast--even though he would much rather spend his days painting in his secret art cave. 

When Lug is banished for failing to catch a jungle llama, he thinks he is alone in the world but finds others who believe in him: his clanmate Stony and a new friend, Echo, a girl from a rival clan who can talk to animals and just may be prehistory's first vegetarian/animal rights activist. Together they face even bigger challenges--Lug discovers the Ice Age is coming and he has to bring the warring clans together to save them not only from the freeze but also from a particularly unpleasant migrating pride of saber-toothed tigers. 

It's no help that the elders are cavemen who can't seem to get the concept of climate change through their thick skulls. With both funny, anachronistic humor, charming characters, and strong themes,  LUG, DAWN OF THE ICE AGE is sure to be a hit with many readers.

Illustrated with black and white line art throughout.

Ready to go back in time with Lug?

Enter to win...

A signed copy of
by David Zeltser!
a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. That's excellent advice, David, especially that part about paying attention to how people behave.

    I'm just popping in to see other blogs on the tour. Love your blog, Bonnie.


Post a Comment

Thanks for taking the time to stop and comment! I appreciate it more than I can say. I try to respond to each one!